Dilwale

I was feeling sick on a beautiful sunday and just wanted to cuddle up with a bollywood movie. I don’t know what made me choose this one but I just went with it and surprisingly I didn’t hate it! It was definitely not the best movie made, not even close but it felt like one of those 90’s movies I watched on TV at home in Mumbai on Z Cinema on a lazy Sunday afternoon. It made me feel comforted and that was exactly what I needed.

This is a quintessential Rohit Shetty movie, fancy cars flying, ridiculous dialogue, huge starcast, beautiful locations, catchy songs and very little story. The story is essentially of bad guys turned good; Kaali (Shah Rukh Khan) and Meera (Kajol) who were once estranged lovers and now are brought face to face by the love of their respective siblings Veer (Varun Dhawan) and Ishita (Kriti Sanon). The story itself is pretty dated and belongs more in the 90’s than the 2010’s when this movie came out.

I really enjoyed the songs in the movie and a bearded SRK kept the thirst levels REAL high. Kajol also looks incredible and might I say better than she has ever looked before. Varun Dhawan was great in some scenes but mostly just seemed to overact. Kriti Sanon was good and played her character well but just somehow seemed mislplaced with the cast.

Overall a decent watch, not a must watch by any means but if you do watch, I wouldnt judge!

Trailer

Favorite Song: Gerua

Leave a Reply

