Fitoor

To be honest I wasn’t too excited about this movie and was not very intrigued by the trailer  either. I found myself in India on my birthday and really wanted to watch a movie so my cousin and aunt took me out (thank you Neha didi!) Our other options were Sanam Re and Sanam Teri Kasam and this seemed like the best option. The prospect of spending 3 hours watching a gorgeous Aditya Roy Kapoor against an even more gorgeous backdrop of Kashmir didn’t seem terrible.

All I knew going in was that the movie was an adaptation of Great Expectations and the video for the song ‘Pashmina’ was ‘inspired’ by an Ed Shereen video. The movie started off with a wonderful performance my two child actors, a very scary Ajay Devgn and an enigmatic Tabu. Since watching Mission Kashmir I have not seen Kashmir depicted so beautifully in any movie and +1 for that.

We are then taken through the journey of the adult Firdaus (beautiful Katrina Kapoor) and Noor (Aditya Roy Kapoor). They both look the part, Katrina as the elegant world traveller and Aditya Roy as the brooding artist. However, the real star here is Tabu, her manipulative ways and air of royalty make her my most and least favorite character.

A special mention here for Aditi Rao Hydari who plays the young Tabu and does a fabulous job doing so. The cinematography and locations are exquisite and I still find myself humming Ye Fitoor but that is not enough to keep me engaged through the second half and I was just grateful to have my frooti and samosa.

Fitoor gave me major wanderlust for Kahmir and any place with snow really so I guess it wasn’t a complete waste of time. I would definitely give this movie a skip but give the songs a listen which are great for a rainy day in.

Favorite song: Yeh Fitoor

Leave a Reply

