Dum Laga Ke Haisha

I  heard  the song, ‘Moh Moh ke dhaage‘ on Saavn and immediately fell in love with the song and added it to my ‘rainy days in bed’ playlist. 

I looked up the movie and tried to find a decent link online but just couldn’t. A couple weeks ago I saw it on my Netflix and just knew I had to watch it and I was not disappointed. Set in my favorite decade, the 90’s this is a pretty cute and lovable story of Prem Prakash played by Ayushman Khurana who does a good job portraying a simple 90’s man. Bhumi Pednekar as Sandhya (also my mom’s name) steals the show with her earnest representation of a confident, misunderstood, lovable young girl. There is good progression in the plot which although far fetched and somewhat unrealistic is still fun to watch.

The songs were all pretty catchy and special mention to the last song ‘Dard Karara ‘for bringing back some serious 90’s nostalgia with that Kumar Sanu voice, hideous outfits and over the top dance moves!

My only real issue with the movie was with the portrayal of the character Sandhya. I am going to put away the PC hat now and just be direct. She is not fat, the character she plays is a very average sized woman. She resembles any aunty wearing sneakers with her suit and taking a walk with her friend around the garden. 90% of the movie is based off of her size and I really think Indian cinema doesn’t understand what a normal person in the general population looks like. To me her character did not look obese or as fat as they made her out to seem. 
If you have the time, I would give this movie a watch. Its light and cute and available on Netflix! 

Trailer

Leave a Reply

